Uncategorized

Messy Hands Make Happy Hearts and Cherry Pie

I have started off on my quest to understand bread, but I couldn’t turn down a good pie recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction. The monthly “Sally’s Baking Challenge” featured a dessert that is typically dumped from a can. To be honest, I’m not sure I’d ever even had this all-American baked good before I got down to it today.

Bright and early, I got busy with another recipe from the same treasure trove that is Sally’s Baking Addiction, her Homemade Buttery Flaky Pie Crust. This stuff was beautifully marbled, and my only regret is that I did not get a picture of it before it became inundated with Cherry filling. Mmm.

While that chilled, I got to pitting the star of the show. I started off with one and a half pounds of cherries, opting to go by weight rather than volume. In this case, that did not choice did not pan out – I had to go back to pitting after I had already gotten rid of most of the cherry coloring from my skin. For this pie, I used a combination of Raniers and Dark Sweet cherries. As I’ve never made cherry pie before, I can’t tell you for sure a mix is better, but the combination of the two varieties packed an awesome flavor punch.

The hard part was over after round two of pitting. The simple pie recipe rolled out super easy without crumbling. I was careful to get my hands on it as little as possible so as not to melt the layers of butter in the crust too early. Add a lattice crust on top and this sweet treat was ready for the oven.

IMG_7537

Fun fact about my Avocado Oven – it could easily be called the Inferno Oven. I recently confirmed my suspicion that my oven runs hot, 50 degrees hot to be exact. But, thanks to an oven thermometer and a pie crust shield, everything turned out just right. This recide was seriously delicious. My pie was probably a little bit juicier than it probably should have been. I just used the runoff as more flavoring for the side of Vanilla Ice Cream that accompanied the first slice. I can’t think of a better way to enjoy the Season 7 Game of Thrones opener.

Leave a Reply

