Uncategorized

Cupcakes and Celebrations

Over the past 18 months, I have baked at least twelve cheesecake and six new pie recipes – one per month. In July 2015 I was struck by the wonderful idea to recreate a sugary treat each month. It may have been the heat of summer or it may have been the fact that I was super pregnant (as in, I went into labor that night, shortly after making my first cheesecake) but it was the beginning of something beautiful. So you can imagine my delight when I picked up the latest copy of Food Network Magzine and they featured twelve cupcake recipes to last a year. Sign. Me. Up.

Here was my attempt at January’s “Champagne Vanilla” cupcakes. There were many firsts for me with these cupcakes. I used a real vanilla bean and used some champagne for cooking. They were definitely fun to make, and boy did I feel fancy with my scraping and bubbling. When it comes down to it though, I’m not much of a champagne gal, and I would rather have a mimosa in a glass than a bubbly from the oven. They were definitely interesting and a great task for an aspiring baker.

Check out the link for the recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchen/champagne-vanilla-cupcakes

Leave a Reply

